Home Uncategorized ASUU Splits, as Faction Union Emerges

ASUU Splits, as Faction Union Emerges


A new academic union of Nigerian Universities have emerged from ASUU.

The union called the Congress of University Academics, CONUA, say they split from the Academic Staff Union of Universities in order to redefine unionism and to restore peace and stability in the universities in Nigeria.

Addressing journalists after their first national stakeholders forum at the Obafemi Awolowo University, OAU, the National Coordinator of the Union, Niyi Ismaheel, said the union wants to formulate a new approach of engagement in addressing the welfare of its members and to put an end to the unnecessary wasting of student’s academic time as a result of frequent strike action.

The Union which started in OAU now has Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma, Federal University, Oye Ekiti, Federal University, Lokoja and Kwara state university, Molete as members.

The union is putting necessary documentation in place for official recognition by the university management and the government



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here