Top government functionaries commence preparations for presidential inauguration


Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, Chairman of the All Progressive Congress, Adams Oshiomhole and other top government functionaries have commenced preparations for the inauguration of President Muhammadu Buhari for a second term by May 29.

The inter-ministerial Presidential Inauguration Committee was inaugurated on Thursday, after which they began sitting immediately at the SGF conference room.

Inaugurating the committee in Abuja, the SGF recalled that about four years ago, “the Buhari Administration came on board with the promise of Change built on economy, security and anti-corruption.

He said the government has since 2015 committed itself to working hard to achieve sustainable economic growth, as well as a secure and corruption free nation.

He said “preparatory to the inauguration of the new Administration, Mr. President approved the constitution of this Presidential Inter-Ministerial Inauguration Committee (PIC-2019) to plan, organize and execute all approved programmes for the series of activities that would be undertaken”.

While the SGF would serve as chairman of the committee, other members of the committee includes, Chief of Staff to the President, Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Minister of Budget and National Planning, Minister of Finance, Minister of Power, Works & Housing, Attorney General & Minister of Justice, Minister of Industry, Trade and Investment, Minister of Transportation, Minister of Agriculture & Rural Development, Minister of Water Resources, Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, National Security Adviser, Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Affairs Office and Deputy Chief of Staff to the President who will serve as secretary, respectively.

The Terms of Reference of the committee includes “to plan, organize and execute all approved activities for the 2019 Presidential Inauguration; Co-opt any organization(s)/person(s) relevant towards the successful execution of the programme; document for posterity, all planned activities for the Inauguration; and, carry out any other assignment as may be required towards the successful implementation of the programme.

“Distinguished Members of the Presidential Inauguration Committee, in the course of the implementation of this assignment, several sub-committees to be headed by Ministers will be constituted.

“For inclusiveness however, other members would be drawn from, not just the MDAs, but also from the All Progress Congress (our Party), the Presidential Campaign Council, the Buhari Support Organisation as well as Women and Youth Campaign Council. The mandate of these sub-committees will be clearly spelt out to reflect the purpose for which they have been constituted. Ahead of such constitution, I wish to underscore the need for collaboration and synergy amongst sub-committees while planning and executing the approved programmes.

“Finally, let me remind all members of the importance of this assignment and that no stone should be left unturned to ensure that this 2019 Presidential Inauguration Committee delivers on its mandate. We must therefore deploy our wealth of experience and show unwavering commitment to this exercise”, the SGF stated.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here